Comic: Hollow Oak University – #8 – Doesn’t Matter You Can’t Read It

Technology is sometimes hair pulling even for those of us who use it for both pleasure and work. Though my compiler has yet to insult me to my face, I have often be left dumbfounded trying to figure out what the heck is wrong with my code. And it usually is the simplest answer: an errant space, a misplaced comma, a typoed variable name. Which isn’t reassuring. It just makes the user feel dumb and hope for the day where a Star Trekkian type AI knows what you really meant and fixes the error for you. Obviously, that would be a big help to Berkeley here. Of course, the flipside is that is how most AI apocalypses start, with the AI knowing more about humanity than humans. But I’d be willing to take the trade off if only my code can run correctly!

I’ve been abusing the post scheduling function on WordPress lately. I am in Florida right now, but I actually wrote this post last Thursday in Maryland. It is like time travel, except with words and kinda lame. I hope I am enjoying my time in sunny South Florida, though the forecast calls for rain, so maybe it is rainy South Florida. I get to see my father, hang out with one of my best friends, and have a BBQ, so I cannot see why I wouldn’t be having a great time. Unless the temperature is in the triple digits and not being read in Kelvin.

Talking of best friends, Sean introduced a new character in this strip! Can you guess who it is? That’s right, that plush doll on Berkeley’s monitor is going to be a new character. I don’t want to spoil who it is, but I will be writing a short story based on him sometime soon. And with that, I’ll segue into this week’s short story, the conclusion of “Cleanliness is Next to Godliness.” Hope you guys are enjoying it. It is a good mental exercise for me because now am I not only thinking about the HOU universe in comic form, looking for the quick punchline, but now I am thinking about it in a more encompassing manner. It is stretching different creative muscles, in other words.

-Beerman

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Comic: Hollow Oak University – #8 – Doesn’t Matter You Can’t Read It”

  1. Tweets that mention Comic: Hollow Oak University – #8 – Doesn’t Matter You Can’t Read It « Creative Bender -- Topsy.com Says:

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Sean Nixon, The Baffling One. The Baffling One said: I may be in SFLA, but that doesn't mean I cant entertain you with #HollowOakUniversity! @ArrogantandLazy and computers! http://bit.ly/csM5CZ […]

Leave a Reply

